Pelvic Organ Prolapse

Inside a woman's pelvic cavity there are three main sets of pelvic organs:

1. Bladder and Urethra (urinary system);
2. Uterus, Fallopian Tubes and Ovaries (reproductive system); and
3. Rectum and Anal Canal (bowel).

In order to keep these pelvic organs high within her pelvic cavity there are two central support systems. These systems include:

• Muscular System: “Pelvic Floor Muscles; and
• Connective Tissue System: “Endopelvic Fascia”

In some cases, one or both of these support systems may become impaired, which can lead to a woman developing pelvic organ prolapse. Examples of events that may lead to this include: after childbirth, during the weight of pregnancy, or following high levels of abdominal straining (chronic constipation). The term Pelvic organ prolapse refers to the gradual (or occasionally sudden) descent of a woman's organs towards the vaginal opening.